Beitbridge Government Primary receives merit award 


MATABELELAND SOUTH- Beitbridge Government Primary School is the 2020 recipient of the coveted Secretary Merit Award in Matabeleland South.
The permanent secretary of the Ministry of Primary and Secondary Education, Tumisang Thabela, unveiled the plaque at the school yesterday.
She also handed over 40 laptops and two pigs to start a piggery. The school head Faith Siyoka Moyo received an office tablet and a certificate of excellence. 
Beitbridge Primary was awarded for its academic, cultural and sporting excellence and meeting the principles of a resilient school during the COVID-19 era.
Chief Director of Ministry of Education, Olicah Kaira, Provincial Educational Director (PED) Beatrice Manjere, Beitbridge Town Clerk Loud Ramakgapola and other stakeholders attended the ceremony.
Thabela said the school maintained a 90 % pass rate 2018-2023, used WhatsApp lessons and radio broadcasts. 
“What is vital are soft and hard skills. I have to congratulate Beitbridge Government Primary School for teaching those soft skills. The school has a reason to celebrate an achievement today.
“The school used a variety of learning technologies including WhatsApp and took advantage of Government radio lessons for children to learn at home and be safe from the COVID-19. Beitbridge Government School began in 1971 and is well maintained,” she said. 
Moyo said they maintained a high learner engagement, provided learner safety, projects implementation, support environmental sustainability and innovative teaching that improved student achievements.
“The year 2020 was a year of great hardship and loss, the year brought many changes to our lives especially to our learners and it was not easy to adjust but we tried all our best to adopt to change. Above all, success was our destiny through the grace of God,” she said. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *