Mupfumi tell off Mutare Central electorate after heavy defeat

Martin Muleya

MUTARE-Zanu PF Mutare Central constituency losing candidate Isau Mupfumi has raked the Mutare electorate over the coals for voting Citizen Coalition for Change (CCC) and described them as sellouts following his recent defeat.
Mupfumi got a paltry 5 010 votes against 15 628 votes for CCC candidate and former Mutare City Mayor Brian James.
He said the electorate in the constituency wants to receive handouts from Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs) with a regime change agenda. He said the electorate is selling the country and forgets that their forefathers died to liberate it.
“The majority of people in Mutare Central chose to sell the country, that our forefathers and mothers fought and died for during the liberation struggle. This country did not come on a silver platter, it was paid for in full measure and with ultimate sacrifice of blood and life but the majority have sold out for a plate of porridge because they receive from NGOs whose agenda is for regime change.
“We will open your minds and eyes so that you see their true colours. I thank everyone who voted for me. Let’s not be discouraged by the outcome. We will continue working with you and remain supportive as always,” reads part of the message.
James said he would release a statement in due course when contacted for a comment by Chipinge Times.
“CCC MP Candidates are meeting with our president Nelson Chamisa today. From there I will be able to make a statement since you know the Presidential results are under dispute,” he said.
Mupfumi who is a Zanu PF Central Committee member and transport mogul donated party regalia, paid for 600 nurse aide training and donated laptops and food stuff.
Meanwhile, CCC deputy president Lynnette Karenyi-Kore thumped Kenneth Muchina of Zanu Pf in Chikanga Constituency. Kore polled 14 237 while Muchina had 3 852 votes. National Constitutional Assembly (NCA) candidate Garikai Charamba polled a paltry 59 votes and Gambureni Taurai of United Zimbabwe Alliance (UZA) had 115 votes.
Prosper Mutseyami (CCC) retained his seat in the Dangamvura Constituency after he polled 17 000 votes against Clide Jani of Zanu Pf’s 6 343 votes while Lameck Mwangunduza of NCA polled 221 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *