Mutare swears in 7 councilors


BUHERA – Mutare City Council has held a swearing in ceremony for seven councillors elected during the March 26, 2022 by-election.
They were sworn at the Civic Center on Wednesday, the council spokesperson Spren Mutiwi has confirmed.

One councilor is from the ruling Zanu PF while six are from the newly formed Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC). All the six councilors were recalled by Douglas Mwonzora of the then MDC T.

Acting Town Clerk Blessing Chafesuka, Mayor Simon Chabuka (CCC) and Deputy Mayor Farai Bhiza (MDC -T) presided over the swearing in ceremony.
Supporters of the country’s two dominant parties CCC and Zanu PF donned their party regalia.

The elected councilors are Edison Kalulu (Ward 4), Sophia Gwasira (Ward 8), Crispen Dive (Ward 9), Monica Mukwada (Ward 13), Kudakwashe Chisango (Ward 18).

The Zanu PF candidate is Resistance Mundembe, who snatched Ward 5 in Sakubva area. Mundembe is a business man who owns Big Byte wholesalers and retailers.

Out of the council’s 18 seats, CCC now has 7 councilors, MDC T seven, ZANU PF one and Calvin Matsiya an independent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *