NAAZ identifies athletes for Mauritius tourney 

Fungayi Munyoro-Chingaira

CHIPINGE-The National Athletics Association of Zimbabwe has identified a long list of potential athletes based in and outside Zimbabwe for Africa Senior Championship that will take place in Mauritius from Jun 12-15 2022.

In an interview with Chipinge Times NAAZ president Tendai Tagara said they have set standards for athletes to achieve.

“We have set a standard that we want our athletes to achieve. For  100m ,they should run  it in 10.18. We believe Africa Senior Championships is not a stage to get experience but to get results for World championship.  The World qualifying standard for 100m is 10.05. So it does not make sense to send a sprinter running 10.32 when we are chasing such a high performance,” he said.

The list released by NAAZ include the country’s  high profiled athletes like Ngoni Makusha 200/100m, Tapiwa Makarawu 200m, Raymond Ngavi 100/200m, Tapiwa Chineka 800m.

Garren Muwishi 200/400m,Dickson kamungeremu 100m,Awakhiwe Ndlovu Tripple Jump,Theophilous Mudzengerere Tripple jump,Wellington Varevi 1500m,

Moses Tarakinyo  10000m,Mitchell Zuze 100/200m,Fortunate Chidzivo 10000m, James Mtenje Javelin, Samkeliso Ndebele 100/200m and Isaac Mudzi 400m.

Tagara said these Athletes will be  training with their coaches and clubs, taking part in local and regional competitions.

“As soon as they qualify,  the association will then look at how to prepare them for Mauritius. We have written to Government through Sports and Recreation Commission seeking support so that we send a strong team to Mauritius,” he said.

 Tagara said the association is not closing the door for new upcoming athletes.

“ This is early season and carrying on from last season. We are looking at these athletes as a group that has the greatest potential to continuing from where they left and meet the entry standards for the Africa Senior Championships,  though we are not closing the door on new up comings and qualifiers,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *