Seven outgoing Gweru councillors bestowed Aldermen


GWERU – City of Gweru has bestowed alderman status on seven outgoing councillors.
The seven are Mayor Hamutendi Kombayi, Catherine Mhondiwa, Tawanda Magidi, Farai Muza, Charles Chikozho, Albert Chirau and Trust Chineni.
The announcement was made during a full council meeting held on Tuesday.
Acting Town Clerk, Livingston Churu said the councillors have served with excellence in areas as water reticulation, refuse collection and accessible roads.
“The councillors to be bestowed with the dignity of Alderman Status have shown unmeasurable demonstration to ensure the progress of Gweru, despite the national and economic struggle.
“They have remained resolute in line with the local authority’s vision to be a sustainable prosperous city of choice by 2030. They have ushered in debate that has brought certain resolutions and policies aimed at making the city a better place for residents. The team has also pushed forward the provision of better service delivery in sectors as water reticulation, refuse collection and an accessible road network, “he said.
The status is bestowed on councillors who have served for 10 years. A mayor can be bestowed after serving eight years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *